Hover Trot

Today I am having a love/hate relationship with trainer D. During my Saturday lesson she was really drilling into me to be softer in the saddle when posting. I really thought I was but being both an expert and on the ground she was seeing something different. I was getting frustrated because I always want to do what is best for Tango. Not only is being light the prober way to ride but it is extra important with him since he tends to be back sore. An additional plus is that being light in the saddle will likely also be better on my back.

So going to the left T was nice and quiet, but when we reversed to the right he decided to become a spunky monkey! He was controllable but I was already thinking that jumping was going to be interesting. When he gets in his spunky mood it can turn bad over fences quickly. I really don’t ever think he is malicious he just gets super excited. I have never felt nervous going down a line with him because I KNOW that this horse is going to jump (knock on wood). It is after the out that he throws his head down, grabs the bit, takes control, and runs.

I meant to post this in my horse show post but forgot. I love the teal yarn in his mane!

I meant to post this in my horse show post but forgot. I love the teal yarn in his mane!

We did our normal warm up X then down the line. That was not horrible but we did have a pretty good argument in the corner after the first line. Well time to put a course together. The first course was a simple hunter course ending on the diagonal line headed home which could lead to trouble. So how was he…….. amazing! I feel like it has been nearly a year but he and I have finally clicked and trust each other. He revved himself up going down the lines but was so great that he came right back into my hand after the lines. The 2nd course had a roll back which when he is spunky can be difficult because he wants to go where HE wants to go but he did it with such ease. He even helped balance me when I tipped my shoulder in to the fence. I ended the lesson with a HUGE smile on my face!

This is what happens when you graze a horse you have spoiled with carrots but he deserved them!

This is what happens when you graze a horse you have spoiled with carrots but he deserved them!

After the lesson I cornered trainer D like I do after most lessons. I love that D and S put up with me so much. I always want to know what I can do better and Saturday I needed to talk about how to be lighter in the saddle. I had a great Ah Ha moment when she explained that to when I am posting I really should not even sit back in the saddle and to think about Tango’s back coming up to met me more than I am sitting down on to him. I have decided to name this the hover trot.

Due to work I was not able to ride again until my lesson last night with trainer S.

As I said today I have a love/hate relationship with her. The great training and advice is why I love her but after concentrating on doing the hover trot all lesson last night my body is hating her! Lol. I am so sore! On the plus side S said that I was being lighter and it looked better. As always it is a work in progress.

Jumping last night went really well again. The challenging portion for us was a 2 stride line to the diagonal line home. On a normal horse it would not be that bad but to make the 2 strides with T you have to get him cruising. That is not what is difficult. The difficult part is getting him back to a calmed canter on the diagonal headed home so he doesn’t get too strong and run. Did I say that was difficult? T stepped up to do the 2 stride and immediately S yelled to us to now calm down.  I could feel him wanting to take control but I sat up and quietly told him “easy bub” and his body relaxed got our strides down that line, courtesy circled and done! Like Saturday the 2nd course had rollback but this one was tighter. He nailed it!

Ok I will stop now because I sound like I am bragging. That is not it at all I am just so proud of that horse and the bond we are creating.

And you thought you were having a bad hair day!

And you thought you were having a bad hair day!

Stampede thought it was fun to pick up the step ladder.

Stampede thought it was fun to pick up the step ladder.

2 responses to “Hover Trot

  1. Sounds like some good lessons. I’ve never really thought about how light I am in the tack at the trot. I’ll have to pay attention to that tonight.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. it is harder than it sounds! But I think it can only be better for the horse.

    Like

Leave a Reply

